Reset the Netgear WNDR4300

Thumbnail image of

Last Updated: | Reading Time: 3 minutes

This guide shows you how to reset your Netgear WNDR4300 router. This is not the same thing as rebooting a router. A reboot happens every time a router loses power. Resetting a router erases all settings from it and returns it to factory defaults.

Warning: Make sure that you fully understand the following before resetting your router. The following settings in your router will be changed:

  • The router's username and password are reset to factory defaults.
  • Your WiFi name and password are reset.
  • Your ISP settings are reset, which means you will have to contact your ISP to get them back.
  • All parental controls, firewall settings, and port forwards will be removed.

A router reset should be considered the last resort when you cannot log in to your router any other way. Before you reset your router, you may want to try recovering your router password with our Router Password Finder.

Other Netgear WNDR4300 Guides

This is the reset router guide for the Netgear WNDR4300 v1.0.2.104. We also have the following guides for the same router:

Recover Password in Netgear WNDR4300

Instead of resetting your router back to factory settings, you may want to try running our Router Password Finder first.

Router Password Finder is designed from the ground up to help you recover your forgotten router username and password, which can save you a lot of time.

Router Password Finder - Automatically Recover Lost or Forgotten Router Passwords

If you are unable to recover your lost router password, then you may have to proceed with a full router reset.

Reset the Netgear WNDR4300

There is usually a small reset button located on either the back or the bottom of a router. Look for something that looks like this:

Router Reset Button

Your reset button may look different, but usually they are very small. If you find a pinhole on the back of the router then that may be the reset button. You will need a paper clip to push it.

Keep an eye on the lights on the front of your router while holding the reset button down for about 10 seconds. After a few seconds the lights should blink differently. When this happens, the reset is complete. You can hold the button down as long as you like, it will not hurt anything.

Just don't forget that this will totally reset your Netgear WNDR4300 router.

Only take this last step of fully resetting your router after you have exhausted all other troubleshooting options, such as running our Router Password Finder software, which can recover a lost router password for you.

Login to the Netgear WNDR4300

After you are finished resetting your router, you need to login in using the original factory username and password. We have a WNDR4300 Login Guide with all this information ready for you.

Change Your Password

You need to change your router's default password after you log in for the first time. Leaving a router password set to default is a very serious security risk. If you need help coming up with a strong password, check out our Choosing a Strong Password guide.

Tip: A great place to write your new password down is on a piece of paper taped to the bottom of your router.

Other Netgear WNDR4300 Guides

We have collected a lot of information about the Netgear WNDR4300 router. You can find some of our additional content here.

This is the reset router guide for the Netgear WNDR4300 v1.0.2.104. We also have the following guides for the same router: